Bimbuer – An old friend

Well, I feel that this illustration is really a landing mark in my skills evolution. I usually went ahead with my first roughs and really strugled in the middle to the end until the time I would give up. But now I see how important to really develop my art is to have better references, make more mistakes and observe “life” more than other artists works.

I believe that as artists, we are nothing without a visual library but although we can rough the idea we want to creat, that exclusive thing, that unique style/interpretation that you have (what I might call art imitating life) I think can only be achieved by observing life and nature.

A lot of this process that I’ve been thinking and reading about resulted in the process of making this image. For the first time after the initial roughs, instead of looking for references that might be similar, I went out (I wish I could do like the old masters skething on site by nowadays is really hard and time consuming!) and took some photos for pose and light/color.

Below you can the final version well as the wip sequence. And also the picture of my father’s debut as a model! lol

Eu acredito que esta ilustração marca um estágio importante na evolução da minha técnica. Eu costumava ir muito rápido nas primeiras etapas e encontrava muito mais dificuldades em finalizar. Mas agora eu vejo o quão importante para realmente desenvolver minhas habilidades é ter referências melhores, cometer mais erros e observar mais a vida ao meu redor do que o trabalho de outros artistas.

Eu acredito que, como artistas, não somos nada sem uma biblioteca visual. Como Picasso comentou “A qualidade de um pintor depende da quantidade de passado que carrega consigo.” Embora possamos transmitir nossas idéias ao papel, eu acho que aquele estilo único que você tem ou está desenvolvendo só pode ser conseguido por meio da observação da vida e da natureza.

Muito destes processo que  estive pensando, lendo e tentando praticar resultou no processo de fazer esta imagem. Pela primeira vez após os rascunhos iniciais, em vez de olhar para as referências que possam ser semelhantes, eu saí (quem dera eu pudesse fazer como os velhos mestres e ir rafear no local mas hoje está difícil!) E tirei algumas fotos de estudo da pose e luz e  cor. A foto acima é a estréia de meu pai como modelo rs.

About cerkvenik

Concept Artist and Illustrator; Swordmaster on weekends! View all posts by cerkvenik

Leave a Reply

